MyFlickrBackup: How To Use

1 - Download

If you don't already have it, get the .NET Framework Client Profile here and install it on your PC...

Microsoft .NET Framework 4

Then you need to download the MyFlickrBackup app by clicking here.

2 - Purchase License

To be allowed to use the app, you need to purchase a license key by clicking on the "Buy Now" button on the homepage. Once you have paid, you will receive an automatic email containing your license key.

3 - Launch MyFlickrBackup and Register

Find myflickrbackup.exe on your computer and double-click. Follow the on-screen instructions to enter your license key. You will only need to do this once. Remembder to use only lower-case letters for your email address and post/zip code.

4 - Allow access to your Flickr Account

The first time you run MyFlickrBackup, it will launch your web browser to your Flickr page. If you are not already logged in to Flickr, then do this now with your usual Flickr username and password. MyFlickrBackup DOES NOT need or use your Flickr username or password, and will never ask you for it.

Once logged into Flickr, you need to authorize MyFlickrBackup to access your photos. Just follow the on-screen instructions and then return to the MyFlickrBackup window when done and press <ENTER>

5 - Choose What You Want To Backup

MyFlickrBackup will list all of your Flickr sets and ask you if you want to download everything, or if you want to choose specific sets to download. The simplest option is to just choose everything. If you do want to be selective, MyFlickrBackup will ask you, one at a time, if you want to download a set. Answer by pressing 'Y' or 'N' on your keyboard to each set.

6 - Confirm and wait for your photos to arrive!

Once you have set up your options, MyFlickrBackup will tell you how many photos it is going to download. Press <ENTER> and sit back, relax, put your feet up, make a coffee, whatever you want. Your photos will be downloaded in sequence. Please note this can take a very long time depending on your internet connection!!!

MyFlickrBackup gives you an estimate of how much data is going to be downloaded, and how long you have got to wait until it finishes (this may be many gigabytes, and may take days rather than hours depending on how many photos you have). These estimates are updated after each photo has finished downloaded. They will become more accurate over time, so don't go crazy if it says "ETA: 30 days" on the first photo!

At any point, you can press <CTRL-C> to quit MyFlickrBackup. You will not lose any data. The next time you run MyFlickrBackup, it will skip over the photos it has already downloaded (provided you use the same download directory!).